Councils & Committees

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size

Safety & Security


Committee Members from left to right:  Front Row - Ronnie Baker, Wayne Sirna, Geneva Hudgins, Lenny McDonald; Second Row - Jim Cherry, Brian Miller, Gayle Ernst; Back Row - Jeff Pratt, Dennis Welsh, Phil Lefevre, Melodee Ashley, Beth Rosenthal


The goals of the Safety and Security Committee are to develop and assist in conducting a safety program which keeps Association members and the public informed of safety issues in the water pollution control field. The committee shall aid in developing and implementing a program to improve the safety record in water pollution control.

This is a joint committee consisting of members from both VA AWWA Section and VWEA with the chair and vice-chair positions alternating between VA AWWA Section and VWEA. The term of office for the chair begins at the JAM in September for a term of 2 years. Membership reflects the geographical distribution of both Associations.

The committee is a resource of industry experts. It provides speakers for conferences and hosts three one-day Safety Seminars in the Northern, Western and Eastern areas of Virginia. The committee administers programs to recognize water and wastewater utilities with excellent safety records and provides awards to those with the best programs.


Jonathan Wright
City of Chesapeake Public Utilities
306 Cedar Road
Chesapeake VA, 23322
Office: 757-382-6130


Deborah Harsh
Chesterfield County Utilities
PO Box 608
Chesterfield VA, 23832
Office: 804.717.6942


Ronnie Baker
Spotsylvania County Utilities
600 Hudgins Road
Fredericksburg VA, 22408
Office: 540.507.7325
Fax: 540.463.3126