Small Systems

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size

The Virginia Section AWWA is committed to the training and education of water systems of all sizes.  We realize, however, that small systems face unique challenges.  The tools, resources, and information listed are intended to keep small systems aware of everything available to them through the Virginia Section and AWWA. 

 Training opportunities:   (unique to small systems - See a full list of training events on the right)

For all FREE 2019 Small Systems Training opportunities, visit www.awwa.org/smallsystemstraining.

The following FREE webinar for small systems serving populations of 10,000 or less is made possible through a US Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) Grant and the Environmental Finance Center Network (EFCN). AWWA membership is not required; however, individuals must register for the event. 

Webinar: 
Connecting the Dots: Regional Development Organizations and Water Systems 

Thursday, May 16, 2019
2:00PM-3:00PM EST

(1:00pm-2:00pm CST, 12:00pm-1:00pm MST, 11:00am-12:00pm PST)
Register Online


Regional Development Organizations (RDOs), known locally as councils of governments, regional planning commissions, economic development districts, and other names, provide various types of assistance to their member communities in a host of service areas. During this webinar, you will hear how RDOs in Texas and Kentucky are working with local municipalities to support water and wastewater systems. Through case studies, learn how these organizations collaborate with local municipalities to write and administer grant programs, conduct water planning efforts, and coordinate with state and federal partners.

Presenters: Kelly Davila, Director, Regional Services/Economic Development, South Plains Association of Governments (TX); David Duttlinger, Executive Director, Bluegrass Area Development District (KY); Karyn Leverenz, Water Management Planner, Bluegrass Area Development District (KY); Brett Schwartz, Associate Director, NADO Research Foundation
 

  

Webinar: 
Ask the Expert: Capital Improvement Planning

Wednesday, May 22, 2019
1:30PM-2:30PM EST

(12:30pm-1:30pm CST, 11:30pm-12:30pm MST, 10:30am-11:30am PST)
Register Online


This webinar will help you move forward with a capital improvement plan for your utility. “Ask the Expert” webinars are a unique opportunity to ask questions and receive feedback from capital improvement planning professionals or listen to Q&A from others.

Whether you already have a capital improvement plan for your utility, or, you simply have a “wish list,” and are wondering where to begin, this webinar is for you. This is your opportunity to ask anything from where to start, to how to sustain a program, or how to communicate CIP plans to board members. All questions related to water utility capital improvements are welcome.

Presenters: Nicholas Willis, Program Manager, Wichita State University Environmental Finance Center

 

 

 

If you intend to join a webinar as a group, but would like to receive continuing education certificates, please be sure to register and attend

Who Should Attend:
Managers, owners, and operators of small water systems serving less than 10,000 people, including local government systems and tribal systems, as well as all other types of water systems, such as homeowners associations, mobile home parks, resorts/campgrounds, schools, prisons, and more.
Decision-makes for water utilities, including mayors, finance officers, utility managers, public works directors, city councilors, board members, tribal council members, and clerks.
Consultants and technical assistance proiders serving water systerms.


Questions? Contact us at smallsystems@syr.edu